FB: Four Big Ten Players Named to 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Big Ten led all Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) conferences with four members of the 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. Indiana's Jammie Kirlew, Michigan's Zoltan Mesko, Northwestern's Andrew Brewer and Wisconsin's Chris Maragos were honored for their off-the-field achievements and selfless contributions to their communities. The 22 honorees, including 11 from the FBS, were announced by Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA).

This summer, a record 106 players were nominated for this prestigious honor by sports information directors on behalf of their teams, surpassing all previous single-season nominee totals since the program began in 1992. From the nominations, a special selection committee named 22 college football players from across the country to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. The two 11-member teams honor players that embody the true spirit of "teamwork" and "giving back" through commendable acts of kindness and community service.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® is now in its 18th season to present the award. In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and AFCA, each player must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization, service group or community service while maintaining good academic standing. Candidates must also display sincere concern and reliability, while also having made a favorable impression on the organizations with which they are involved. Neither athletic ability nor on-the-field achievements are among the selection criteria.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/1429

Leave a comment