FB: Iowa's Ferentz and Penn State's Paterno Named to Watch List for Bryant Coach of Year Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Iowa's Kirk Ferentz and Penn State's Joe Paterno were named to the watch list for the Paul "Bear" Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Award. Ferentz has led the Hawkeyes to their first 8-0 start in school history, making them one of only seven undefeated teams in the country. Paterno has guided the Nittany Lions to a 7-1 start. He was the recipient of the inaugural Bryant Coach of the Year Award in 1986 and was a finalist in 1994 and 2005. Three Big Ten coaches have earned the Bryant Award, a group that includes Ohio State's Jim Tressel (2002), Michigan's Lloyd Carr (1997) and Northwestern's Gary Barnett (1995). The finalists for the 2009 Bryant Coach of the Year Award will be announced in December, with the winner unveiled on January 14.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/1220

Leave a comment