FB: Iowa's Stanzi and Penn State's Clark Named Semifinalists for O'Brien Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Big Ten was one of only four conferences to feature multiple student-athletes among the 15 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, as Iowa's Ricky Stanzi and Penn State's Daryll Clark were among the semifinalists announced today. The Big Ten was joined by the Big East, Big 12 and Pac-10 as the only conferences with multiple semifinalists. Stanzi appears among the semifinalists despite not appearing on the preseason watch list, which featured five Big Ten players including Clark. Four Big Ten standouts have won the O'Brien Award, including Iowa's Brad Banks (2002) and Chuck Long (1985), Ohio State's Troy Smith (2006) and Penn State's Kerry Collins (1994). Finalists for the 2009 O'Brien Award will be announced on Nov. 23, with the winner unveiled on Dec. 10.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/1224

Leave a comment