FB: National Football Foundation to Honor Iowa's Station for Hall of Fame Selection

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Larry Station, former Iowa linebacker from 1982-85, will be honored with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute on Sat., Oct. 10, as the Hawkeyes host Michigan in Iowa City. NFF COO Matthew Sign will take part in the presentation, and the game will be aired on ABC starting at 8:00 p.m. EST.

Throughout the football season, each Football Bowl Subdivision Hall of Fame inductee returns to his school for the special on-field event, where a commemorative plaque is presented to the university for permanent display. Beginning with the Foundation's inaugural Hall of Fame class in 1951, the On-Campus Salute has served as the first of numerous highlights in the Hall of Fame experience, giving each inductee one more chance to take the field.

Station twice earned First Team All-America (consensus in 1984 and unanimous in 1985) honors while leading the Hawkeyes to four consecutive bowl games and a Big Ten championship in 1985. He remains the only player in Iowa history to lead the team in tackles for four years, finishing his career with 492 tackles. Also a three-time first team All-Big Ten selection, he led Iowa to a 35-13-1 record during his career. In the classroom, he twice
earned First Team Academic All-America honors.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/1302

Leave a comment