XCC: Wisconsin and Penn State Capture Big Ten Titles

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

For the 11th-straight season the Wisconsin men's cross country team captured the Big Ten Championship title in dominating fashion, placing five of their runners among the top eight finishers to best the field by an astonishing 65 points. The Badgers extended their own conference record for consecutive championships, collecting 26 team points en route to the conference crown on Sunday at the Penn State University White Golf Course. Minnesota junior Hassan Mead captured his second Big Ten individual title in as many seasons, completing the 5.2 mile-course a full five seconds ahead of the field in 25:00.2

On the women's side, host Penn State garnered its first Big Ten Championship title, amassing 71 team points to edge Illinois (77) by a narrow six-points. Nittany Lion senior Bridget Franek claimed top honors in the event, crossing the finish line in a time of 20:03 - the second fastest six-kilometer mark ever recorded by an individual titlist in Big Ten Championships history.

Men's Results

Women's Results

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/1596

Leave a comment