FB: Michigan's Graham and Penn State's Clark Share Chicago Tribune Silver Football

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Michigan defensive end Brandon Graham and Penn State quarterback Daryll Clark were both honored with the Chicago Tribune Silver Football, given to the Big Ten Most Valuable Player (MVP), as announced live last night on the Big Ten Network. The Chicago Tribune Silver Football has been awarded since 1924, but this marks the first time that two players have shared the award. Clark  is the first Nittany Lion to be honored since quarterback Michael Robinson won the award in 2005. Graham is the first Wolverine to be named the Big Ten MVP since wideout Braylon Edwards in 2004.

The legendary Red Grange of Illinois won the first Silver Football in 1924 and the award has been presented annually since. Among some of the other winners are:  Otto Graham (1943), Dick Butkus (1963), Bob Griese (1966), Archie Griffin (1973-74), Chuck Long (1985), Desmond Howard (1991), Ron Dayne (1999) and Drew Brees (2000).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/2040

Leave a comment