MBB: Starting Five

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

1. Only four Division I teams have two wins over the AP-Top 10 with two of them hailing from the Big Ten. Purdue and Wisconsin help make up the fearsome foursome along with Syracuse and Texas. More impressive, Wisconsin is the only team with four wins over the AP Top-25 this season through games played to date.

Most Wins over AP-Top 25
Wisconsin, 4-1
Georgetown, 3-0
Syracuse, 3-0
Duke,   3-1

2.  With its win over Minnesota on Wednesday, Michigan State inched one step closer to tying the Division I lead for most wins over the past calendar year. At 33-8, the Spartans sit one win shy of Memphis, which leads all teams with 34 wins since January, 2009. A complete breakdown follows:

Most Wins by Division I Teams Since Jan. 10 2009
Memphis                34-5 (.872)
Michigan State      33-8 (.805)
Louisville               33-8 (.805)
North Carolina      32-8 (.800)
Gonzaga               32-5 (.865)
Villanova               32-7 (.821)
Missouri                32-8 (.800)

3. Wisconsin's Bo Ryan needs just two more wins to become the second-fastest coach to notch 100 W's in the wins column against Big Ten opponents. Currently the Badgers' head general owns a 98-39 record in conference games to date. He will have the chance to position himself between Indiana coaching legends Bob Knight (100-31) and Branch McCracken (100-40) when Wisconsin squares off against Ohio State and Michigan, beginning with an 8 p.m. ET matchup inside Value City Arena on Saturday.

Fastest Coaches to 100 Big Ten Wins
Name                                         Total Games    Record
1.  Bob Knight (IND)                   131                100-31
2.  Branch McCracken (IND)     140                 100-40
3.  Harry Combes (ILL)              141                 100-41
4.  Walter Meanwell (WIS)         142                 100-42
5.  Tom Izzo (MSU)                      143                 100-4
     Fred Taylor (OSU)                  143                 100-43

Bo Ryan (WIS)                             137                 98-39

4. On Tuesday night in West Lafayette, history was made. For only the third time in conference annals, a player on each team scored 30 or more points. Ohio State's Evan Turner scored 32 points, while Purdue's Robbie Hummel accounted for 35 of his teams' total points.
1/31/1998 | Michigan State vs. Northwestern           
Mateen Cleaves, Michigan State (34) and Evan Eschmeyer, Northwestern (30)

1/20/1999  | Michigan vs. Minnesota
Louis Bullock, Michigan (33) and Quincy Lewis, Minnesota (30)

1/12/10 | Ohio State vs. Purdue
Robbie Hummel, Purdue (35) and Evan Turner, Ohio State (32)

5.  Let the countdown begin. Fifty-five days is all that stands between you and the 2010 Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament. The perennial event returns to Indianapolis and Conseco Fieldhouse for the third of a five-year commitment. This year's tournament will tip off on Thursday, March 11 and the champion will be crowned on Sunday, March 14. We look forward to seeing you in Indy for a celebration of Big Ten Basketball! 

For ticket information and further details, visit our Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament page at bigten.org.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/2730

Leave a comment