SB: Eye on You

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Amateur Softball Association announced on Jan. 27, the 50-person "Watch List" for the 9th Annual USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award. Five Big Ten standouts have been named to the initial list.

A list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 12. The final three finalists will be announced May 26 while the winner of the 2010 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the 2010 NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City.

Lauren Delaney (Northwestern) - Senior - Pitcher - Jefferson City, Mo. 
Sam Marder (Ohio State) - Senior - Catcher - Calabasas, Calif.
Adrienne Monka (Northwestern) - Sophomore - Infield - Rancho Cucamongo, Calif.
Nikki Nemitz (Michigan) - Senior - Pitcher - St. Clair Shores, Mich.
Maggie Viefhaus (Michigan)  - Senior - Infielder - Pacific, Mo.

Nemitz and Viefhaus were named unanimous All-Big Ten selections a year ago. Monka was the conference's Freshman of the Year. Delany earned Pitcher of the Year accolades two seasons ago. Marder is a two-time All-Big Ten selection. 

As the season approaches, check back as we go in-depth with the nominees.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment