MBB: Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award Winners Honored

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
WayneDuke.JPGFrom left:  Ohio State Senior Woman Administrator Miechelle Willis, Ohio State diver Chelsea Davis, Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership's Jerry Semler and Phil Borst, Northwestern football player Mark Ison, Northwestern Associate Athletic Director Brad Hurlbut, and Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany.

The second presentation during halftime of the Northwestern/Purdue quarterfinal game honored a former Big Ten Commissioner, a Northwestern football standout, and an accomplished Ohio State diver.

The Wildcats' Mark Ison and Buckeyes' Chelsea Davis were honored as the recipients of the 2010 Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award presented by the Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership. The award is an annual scholarship recognizing one male and one female Big Ten senior student-athlete pursuing a postgraduate degree for achievements in academics, athletics, extracurricular activities and leadership. It is given out in conjunction with the Big Ten Men's and Women's Basketball Tournaments.

In recognition of the Big Ten's leadership in fully integrating athletics into the academic mission of its member institutions, the Indianapolis Community Partnership initiated the Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award in 2008 to complement the Big Ten Basketball Tournaments in Indianapolis. Each Big Ten institution was asked to nominate one male and one female student-athlete for 2010, with a $5,000 scholarship awarded to each winner.

The Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award is named for the former Big Ten Conference commissioner who served from 1971-89. While leading the Big Ten, Duke spent much of his time working to improve academic standards and graduation rates for student-athletes.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/4374

Leave a comment