WREST: Ness Wins Hodge Trophy

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Minnesota 133-pound senior Jayson Ness was named the winner of the 2010 Dan Hodge Trophy, which is presented annually to the nation's best wrestler. Ness is the third-straight Big Ten wrestler to have won the prestigious award.

An award coined the "Heisman Trophy of Wrestling," The Dan Hodge Trophy was created by Wrestling Insider News Magazine and is awarded to the wrestler based several criteria, including the wrestler's record, number of pins, dominance on the mat, past credentials, quality of competition, sportsmanship/citizenship and heart.

Ness finished the 2010 season with a 31-0 record and won the NCAA and Big Ten Championships and 133 pounds. Additionally, he was named Big Ten Wrestler of the Year and the Most Outstanding Wrestler of the National Tournament by the National Wrestling Coaches Association.

For more information on Ness and the Hodge Trophy, click here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/4704

Leave a comment