M GYM: Stannard Wins Nissen-Emery Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Illinois' Luke Stannard was named the winner of the prestigious Nissen-Emery Award, it was announced Wednesday night at the NCAA banquet. It is the second straight year a Big Ten gymnast has won the honor as former Penn State gymnast Casey Sandy won the award in 2009.

The award is presented annually to the nation's top senior male gymnast and honors excellence in gymnastics, good sportsmanship and fair play and a high standard of scholarship throughout his collegiate career.

Stannard is the third Illini gymnast to win the award. David Zeddies (1989) and current Illinois associate men's head coach Justin Spring (2006) also have won the award. At the banquet, Spring was named Central Region Coach of the Year and Ivan Ivankov was named Assistant Coach of the Year.

More information can be found here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/5087

Leave a comment