FB: Four Big Ten Student-Athletes Named Candidates for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Four Big Ten student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award in football. Indiana's Ben Chappell, Penn State's Stefen Wisniewski, Purdue's Ryan Kerrigan and Wisconsin's Scott Tolzien were all named candidates for the award. The award was first presented to a football student-athlete in 2008, when Ohio State's James Laurinaitis was honored.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 
The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one  finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/8493

Leave a comment