WBB: Three Named to Wade Trophy Watch List

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Three Big Ten women's basketball players were selected to the 2010-11 preseason Wade Watch list for the State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced Wednesday morning.

Iowa's Kachine Alexander and Ohio State's Jantel Lavender and Samantha Prahalis were selected to the 25-member preseason watch list for the Wade Trophy, which is given annually to the Division I student-athlete who best embodies the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effort on their team and overall playing ability.

Last season, all three were named first-team All-Big Ten and guided their respective teams to the Big Ten Tournament final and the NCAA Tournament. Lavender is the reigning three-time Big Ten Player of the Year.

The Big Ten is tied for third among all conferences with three selections on the list, behind the Big East and SEC, who have four each, and tied with the ACC and the Big 12. Lavender is one of three players making the cut for the third time, while Prahalis is among six standouts receiving the honor for the second time. The winner of this year's award will be announced at the 2011 NCAA Women's Final Four in Indianapolis.

Click here to read the complete release.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/7646

Leave a comment