FB: Big Ten Leads All Conferences with Six Players on Midseason Mackey Award Watch List

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Big Ten leads all conferences with six players on the midseason watch list for the Mackey Award, given annually to the best collegiate tight end. The ACC and SEC rank second with three players each on the watch list. Big Ten student-athletes appearing on the midseason watch list are Indiana's Ted Bolser, Iowa's Allen Reisner, Michigan State's Charlie Gantt, Minnesota's Eric Lair, Northwestern's Drake Dunsmore and Wisconsin's Lance Kendricks. The John Mackey Award midseason watch list is an update from the preseason watch list. This list is meant to draw attention to tight ends in contention for the annual award based on their performance in the first half of the active season. Three Big Ten players have claimed the Mackey Award - Purdue's Tim Stratton in 2000, Iowa's Dallas Clark in 2002 and Minnesota's Matt Spaeth in 2006.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/11076

Leave a comment