FB: Fry and Keyes Inducted into Rose Bowl Hall of Fame

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Rose Bowl Game legends  Hayden Fry and Leroy Keyes headline the 2010 Rose Bowl Hall of Fame class to be installed at the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony presented by Wells Fargo at noon on Dec. 30, 2010, at the Pasadena Convention Center. The Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to honor members of the Rose Bowl Game who have contributed to the history and excitement of the game, and those who embody the best of the passion, strength, tradition and honor associated with The Granddaddy of Them AllĀ®. Over the past 21 years, a total of 98 inductees have been added to the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. Inductees are honored by a permanent plaque with the name and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium.

With Hayden Fry at the helm, Iowa's football program ranked consistently among the nation's best. As the Hawkeyes' head coach for 20 years, Fry led his team to 96 Big Ten game victories, league titles in 1981 (shared), 1985 (outright) and 1990 (shared), each time earning a trip to the Rose Bowl plus 14 other bowl appearances. Fry was responsible for bringing the Hawkeyes back to the Rose Bowl Game for the first time after a 23-year hiatus. Fry had a 143-89-6 record with the Hawkeyes (96-61-5 in the Big Ten) and a career mark of 232-178-10. He is Iowa's winningest football coach and was just the sixth football coach in Big Ten history to coach 20 seasons. Fry was voted Big Ten Coach of the Year three times (1981, 1990, 1991) and has been named Coach of the Year, both regionally and nationally, by both the media and the American College Football Coaches Association. In 2003 he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. He has also been honored with the prestigious Amos Alonzo Stagg Lifetime Achievement Award. Since that time he has also been inducted into the Baylor Wall of Fame, the Peach, Sun and Holiday Bowl Halls of Fame and the North Texas State University Hall of Fame.

Purdue's Leroy Keyes was an outstanding running back and defensive back for the Boilermakers from 1966 to 1968. During his collegiate career, Keyes had many notable accomplishments. During his sophomore year, Purdue finished the season 8-2 and earned a berth in the Rose Bowl Game. As a junior, Keyes was named Most Valuable Player of the Big Ten Conference after rushing for 986 yards with 13 touchdowns and leading the Boilermakers to an 8-2 record. He amassed 1,870 yards total offense, the most in a season at Purdue. Keyes also became the first player in Purdue history to rush for more than 1,000 yards in a season (1,003) while equaling the school record with 14 rushing touchdowns as a senior. He was a consensus All-American in both 1967 and 1968, finishing third and second in the Heisman Trophy balloting. Keyes is the Boilermakers' career leader with an average of 5.88 yards per rushing attempt. He held the career rushing touchdowns mark, as well, with 29 before Mike Alstott bettered the mark in 1995. Following his collegiate career, the Philadelphia Eagles selected Keyes with the third-overall pick in the 1969 NFL Draft. Named both an offensive back and defensive back on Purdue's All-Time Football Team in 1987,  Keyes was selected the school's "All-Time Greatest Player." He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1990. Keyes served as an assistant coach at Purdue under Jim Colletto in 1995 and 1996 and subsequently has been on the staff of the John Purdue Club.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/13372

Leave a comment