FB: Nine Big Ten Standouts Named to Pro Bowl Team

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Nine former Big Ten student-athletes were named to the National Football League Pro Bowl teams earlier this week, including seven starters. The Big Ten ranked second among all conferences with seven Pro Bowl starters, trailing only the ACC's 11 starters and followed by the Pac-10 and SEC with five starters each. The Big Ten was one of only four conferences with nine or more Pro Bowl selections, including the ACC (18), SEC (12) and Pac-10 (11). Seven Big Ten standouts were named to the AFC Pro Bowl team, including six starters. The six starters for the AFC include San Diego offensive guard Kris Dielman (Indiana), New England quarterback Tom Brady (Michigan), Miami offensive tackle Jake Long (Michigan), New York center Nick Mangold (Ohio State), Miami linebacker Cameron Wake (Penn State) and Cleveland offensive tackle Joe Thomas (Wisconsin). Denver wide receiver Brandon Lloyd (Illinois) was also selected to the AFC Pro Bowl squad. The NFL Pro Bowl team will feature two former Big Ten standouts in starting cornerback Charles Woodson (Michigan) of Green Bay and backup quarterback Drew Brees (Purdue) of New Orleans.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/14029

Leave a comment