FB: Three Big Ten Players Earn Unanimous All-America Honors

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Fourteen Big Ten student-athletes have been named to the All-America first, second or third teams as chosen by the American Football Coaches Association, Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America, Sporting News and Walter Camp Football Foundation. Big Ten All-Americans include three standouts named to all five first teams - Michigan State linebacker Greg Jones, Purdue defensive end Ryan Kerrigan and Wisconsin offensive tackle Gabe Carimi. Jones earns consensus All-America honors for the second straight season, making him the first Big Ten player to accomplish that feat since Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis was tabbed a consensus All-American in 2006, 2007 and 2008. Jones is just the fourth Spartan to earn consensus All-America laurels in two seasons, a group that includes running back Lorenzo White (1985 and 1987), defensive end Charles "Bubba" Smith (1965 and 1966) and linebacker George Webster (1965 and 1966). Jones is also MSU's first unanimous All-American since wideout Charles Rogers was honored 2002. Kerrigan is the first consensus All-American for the Boilermakers since wide receiver Taylor Stubblefield in 2004 and the first Purdue defender to be so honored since defensive back Rod Woodson in 1986. The Boilermakers' last unanimous All-Americans were quarterback Mark Herrmann and tight end Dave Young in 1980. Carimi is the Badgers' first unanimous All-America pick since fellow offensive lineman Joe Thomas was honored in 2006.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/13710

Leave a comment