FB: Wisconsin's Watt Wins Lott Trophy

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Wisconsin defensive end J.J. Watt was named the 2010 Lott Trophy winner. Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its seventh year, the Lott is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation in Newport Beach, the award is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Wisconsin will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of Watt's achievement.

Watt becomes the second Big Ten player to earn the Lott Trophy since it was created in 2004, as Ohio State linbacker James Laurinaitis claimed the Lott Trophy in 2008. Watt was the leader of Wisconsin's defense this season, ranking third in the country in tackles for loss (21). A consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection, Watt is tied for second in the Big Ten in sacks (7.0), forced fumbles (3) and tied for third with two fumble recoveries. He is tied for second on the team in tackles (59), leads the team with 10 quarterback hurries and has also blocked three kicks and recorded an interception.

In addition to his skills on the field, Watt is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten performer, and is in the process of starting his own foundation, the Justin J. Watt Foundation to benefit local elementary and middle schools that lack funding for after school sports and activities.


No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/13573

Leave a comment