FH: Coaches of the Year

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Penn State head coach Charlene Morett and Ohio State's Anne Wilkinson were named the 2010 Dita/NFHCA Mideast and West Region Coaches of the Year, respectively, the National Field Hockey Coaches Association announced Wednesday.

Morett lead the Nittany Lions to a 14-6 overall record and a 4-2 record in the Big Ten. Penn State received an at-large bid to the 2010 NCAA Tournament, the 21 appearance in Morett's career. The Nittany Lions led the nation with an .816 save percentage and finished 10th in the final NFHCA poll. Morett coached three student-athletes, Kelsey Amy, Ayla Halus and Jessica Longstreth to All-America honors and four members were recognized as All-Region honorees.

Wilkinson guided Ohio State to a successful 2010 season, including a 18-5 overall record and setting a school record for most wins in a single season. The Buckeyes finished 5-1 in the Big Ten, won their third Big Ten regular season title and advanced to their first NCAA final four appearance in school history. Wilkinson guided Aisling Coyle and Berta Queralt to All-America status, while Coyle earned Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Paula Pastor-Pitarque was the Big Ten Freshman of the Year honoree.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/13418

Leave a comment