MSCR: Indiana's Bruin, Penn State's Hertzog Named MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Indiana's Will Bruin and Penn State's Corey Hertzog have been named semifinalists for the 2010 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy as announced on Wednesday. Bruin and Hertzog are among 15 semifinalists for the award, which honors the national player of the year.

The Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, Bruin posted 41 points on 18 goals and five assists in 2010, leading Indiana to the Big Ten Championship and its 24th consecutive NCAA Championship appearance. His 18 goals are good for fifth-most in a single season in Big Ten history.

Hertzog led the nation and tied the Big Ten record for goals in a season, scoring 20 for the Nittany Lions en route to the team's 12th NCAA Championship berth. The junior also tallied six assists in 2010, giving him the second-highest point total in Big Ten history with 46.

NCAA Division I head coaches will vote on the 15 semifinalists, narrowing the field down to three finalists on Dec. 10. The 2010 MAC Hermann Trophy winner will be announced on Jan. 7.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment