WSCR: Ohio State's Dickerson, Penn State's Nairn Tabbed MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Ohio State's Cassie Dickerson and Penn State's Christine Nairn have been selected as semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, given to the nation's top player. Dickerson and Nairn are among 15 semifinalists for the award.

The Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, Dickerson is one of only two defenders in the group of semifinalists. The senior has led the Ohio State's defensive efforts en route to a share of the Big Ten title and an NCAA Championship run that has the Buckeyes among four teams remaining in Friday's College Cup. Dickerson and the Buckeyes have allowed 14 goals in 23 matches and have posted 12 shutouts in 2010.

Nairn earned first-team All-Big Ten honors after recording 20 points on seven goals and six assists, helping Penn State earn a share of its 13th consecutive Big Ten title and a berth to the NCAA Championship. She also tallied three game-winning goals in 2010.

NCAA Division I head coaches will vote on the 15 semifinalists, narrowing the field down to three finalists on Dec. 10. The 2010 MAC Hermann Trophy winner will be announced on Jan. 7.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment