WRES: Penn State Wins First Big Ten Title

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Penn State earned the first Big Ten Wrestling Championship in program history on Sunday, scoring 139 points to edge Iowa by just one point. Five Nittany Lions won weight class titles to push Penn State to the crown. The Hawkeyes took second with 138 points, while Minnesota finished third with 109.5.

Penn State swept the Big Ten individual awards, as 157-pounder David Taylor earned conference Wrestler and Freshman of the Year accolades, 184-pounder Quentin Wright was named Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships and head coach Cael Sanderson picked up Coach of the Year honors.

Click here to read the complete release from the Big Ten and here to see Penn State's recap.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/16515

Leave a comment