WSWM: Minnesota's Haley Spencer and Wisconsin's Maggie Meyer wins NCAA crowns

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Minnesota sophomore Haley Spencer captured the national title in the 200-yard breaststroke giving the Gophers their third individual title at the 2011 Women's Swimming & Diving Championships. Spencer won the crown with a career-best time of 2:06.12.

The Golden Gophers led all Big Ten teams competing at the national event, tallying 192 points, collecting its best finish at the national meet and scoring the most points at NCAAs in Gopher history. Wisconsin amasssed 160 tallies to place 11th, followed by Indiana in 15th with 86.5 points and Ohio State in 17th place, earning 64 total points. Purdue(25), Iowa(T30), Michigan(T30) and Penn State (35) round out the conference contingent.

Wisconsin senior Maggie Meyer claimed the schools first NCAA individual title in school swimming history. Meyer won the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:50.76, a new school and Big Ten Conference record. The White Bear Lake, Minn., native ended the season with the fastest time in the country this year.

The national title went to California with 424 points, earning the Golden Bears' second NCAA crown in three years.


Click here for the entire recap.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment