MGYM: Three Named Nissen-Emery Award Finalists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Three Big Ten men's gymnasts have been named finalists for the 2011 Nissen-Emery Award, given to the nation's top senior gymnast. Illinois' Daniel Ribeiro, Michigan's Chris Cameron and Ohio State's Brandon Wynn are among the seven finalists for the honor, which will be awarded on April 13 at the NCAA Championships Banquet.

Ribeiro, a three-time Big Ten Champion, took first place on the pommel horse at the Big Ten Championships last weekend. Cameron picked up Big Ten Gymnast of the Year honors and was crowned the NCAA all-around champion in 2010, helping the Wolverines to the national title. Wynn won his second-straight Big Ten title on the still rings last weekend after winning the national title in the event last season.

A Big Ten gymnast has been honored with the Nissen-Emery Award in five of the last six seasons, with Illinois' Luke Stannard taking home the accolade last season.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment