FB: Sixteen Named to Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Sixteen Big Ten players appeared on the 2011 Rotary Lombardi Award watch list, released on Monday. The honor is awarded annually to the nation's best down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, and linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage.

Those named to the watch list are Illinois' Jeff Allen, Iowa's Riley Reiff, Michigan's Mike Martin and David Molk, Michigan State's Joel Foreman and Jerel Worthy, Nebraska's Jared Crick, Lavonte David, and Cameron Meredith, Northwestern's Vince Browne and Ben Burkett, Ohio State's Mike Adams, Mike Brewster and Andrew Sweat, and Wisconsin's Peter Konz and Kevin Zeitler.

Seven former Big Ten standouts have combined to win eight Lombardi Awards, with former Ohio State lineman Orlando Pace claiming the honor in 1995 and 1996. Former Michigan defensive end LaMarr Woodley was the last conference player to garner the postseason accolade, winning the award in 2006.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/21734

Leave a comment