FB: Twelve Players Named to O'Brien, Walker Award Watch Lists

| 1 Comment | No TrackBacks
Twelve more Big Ten players have been added to preseason award watch lists as the groups for the O'Brien Award and Walker Award were announced on Friday. Six players have been tabbed on the watch list for the O'Brien Award, given to the nation's top quarterback, while another six earned recognition on the watch list for the Walker Award, which honors the top running back in the country.

Illinois' Nathan Scheelhaase, Michigan's Denard Robinson, Michigan State's Kirk Cousins, Nebraska's Taylor Martinez, Northwestern's Dan Persa and Wisconsin's Russell Wilson represent the Big Ten among the 38 players selected for the O'Brien Award watch list. Four conference players have taken home the award, as Ohio State's Troy Smith (2006), Iowa's Brad Banks (2002), Penn State's Kerry Collins (1994) and Iowa's Chuck Long (1985) each earned national recognition.

The group of 51 players selected for the Walker Award watch list features Illinois' Jason Ford, Iowa's Marcus Coker, Michigan State's Edwin Baker, Minnesota's Duane Bennett and Wisconsin's Montee Ball and James White. Five Big Ten standouts have earned the honor all-time, with Iowa's Shonn Greene (2008), Michigan's Chris Perry (2003), Penn State's Larry Johnson (2002), Wisconsin's Ron Dayne (1999) and Ohio State's Eddie George (1995) reeling in the award.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/21789

1 Comment

Go Big Ten!! So happy to see all these great players on here. Now for the waiting...

Leave a comment