Hoosier Legends Recognized Through Trophy Names

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

While Indiana may belong to the Leaders division, the legends of Indiana football have also made their mark on the Big Ten Conference. Two of the Big Ten's trophies will feature the namesakes of former Indiana football players.

Antwaan Randel El, one of the most exciting athletes to come through Indiana, is honored on the Thompson-Randel El Freshman of the Year trophy. Randel El set numerous offensive records and came in sixth in the Heisman Trophy voting following his senior campaign in 2001.

Anthony Thompson, a running back for the Hoosiers from 1986-1989, is recognized on the Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award. Thompson was named Big Ten Player of the Year and was selected as an All-American following both his junior and senior seasons. More recently, Thompson has taken the role as pastor and spiritual mentor in the Bloomington community. Thompson will be at the Mobile Tour on Saturday at 4:30 p.m. signing autographs for fans. On Saturday, the Mobile Tour RV will be located at Memorial Stadium at the Hoosier Village, just north of 17th Street.

The complete list of Big Ten trophy names can be found here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/23686

Leave a comment