St. John Arena

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Historic St. John Arena

Not many things compare to St. John Arena on this campus. It defines the word Vintage - Characterized by excellence, maturity, and enduring appeal; classic.


It is named after Lynn St. John, who was the athletic director at Ohio State for 33 years and served as the head basketball coach from 1911-1919. St. John was appointed to the NCAA Basketball Rules Committee in 1912; he held this position for 25 years, the last 18 at the chairman. He served as a member of the 1936 Basketball Olympic Committee, and played an active role during the inaugural Olympic competition He also coached baseball for Ohio State and football in the state of Ohio.


St. John Arena was built in 1956, six years after Lynn's death. The arena saw the golden age of Ohio State basketball, an era that saw the Buckeyes win five straight Big Ten titles from 1960-1964 under head coach Fred Taylor. It also housed the 1960 national championship team that featured hall of famers Jerry Lucas, John Havlicek, Larry Siegfried and Bobby Knight.


Most people don't know that the same floor that these legends of OSU played on is the same floor that sits in the arena today. Thanks to an incredible job by the facilities crew at St. John, the same floor that saw Ohio State's only basketball national championship now houses men's and women's volleyball, gymnastics, fencing and wrestling. St. John also hosts one of the best traditions on Saturday. The band warm up and pep rally known as "Skull Session". 

I win provide some tweets and a video of Skull Session later today. Check the twitter feed and YouTube page for updates.


No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment