Michigan's Molk Named Rimington Trophy Winner

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Michigan's David Molk was named the winner of the Rimington Trophy, honoring the nation's outstanding center. Molk is the second Wolverine to earn the Rimington Trophy after David Baas was honored in 2004. Six players from current Big Ten schools have now claimed the Rimington Trophy - Nebraska's Dominic Raiola in 2000, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley in 2001, Baas in 2004, Minnesota's Greg Eslinger in 2005, Penn State's A.Q. Shipley in 2008 and Molk.

Molk, a four-year starter, has opened 41 career games at center for Michigan. A senior captain who started all 12 games in the 2011 regular season, he helped lead the Wolverines to a 10-2 record and the Sugar Bowl. Molk and the offensive line helped pave the way for two 1,000-yard rushers, the first time since 1975 Michigan has had two players eclipse 1,000 rushing yards. The line also allowed only 15 sacks in 2011, while the offense averaged 34.2 points per game, (2nd in the Big Ten), 235.7 rushing yards per game, (2nd in the Big Ten and 12th in the FBS), and 423.1 yards per game (rd-best in the conference).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/28499

Leave a comment