Big Ten Bowl Notes

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Big Ten teams have played in more BCS games than any other conference and have compiled 11 wins in those games, which ranks second only to the SEC.

The Big Ten has won three BCS games over the last three seasons, which ranks second only to the SEC, which will have four BCS wins at the end of this season. The last time the Big Ten earned three BCS wins in a three-year span was after the 2003, 2004 and 2005 seasons.

The Big Ten and SEC are also the only two conferences that have seen three different schools take home BCS bowl trophies in the last three years, as Michigan claimed this year's Sugar Bowl, Iowa won the 2010 Orange Bowl, and Ohio State won the 2010 Rose Bowl Game.

Overall, eight current Big Ten schools have participated in BCS bowl games, which ranks second only to the Pac-12's total of nine. Additionally, the Big Ten lays claim to three of the 15 programs which have won multiple BCS games. Ohio State leads the nation with five BCS wins, while Michigan and Wisconsin each have two.

Check back tomorrow for more information on the Big Ten in bowl competition.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment