Hoke Named Maxwell Collegiate Coach of Year

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Maxwell Football Club, the oldest football club in America, announced that University of Michigan head football coach Brady Hoke has been named its Collegiate Coach of the Year for the 2011 season. Hoke was named the 19th head coach in school history on Jan. 11, 2011. The former assistant coach at U-M (1995-2002) led the Wolverines to an 11-2 record (6-2 Big Ten) and Allstate Sugar Bowl victory in his first season. Nationally, Hoke became one of eight coaches to direct a team to a Bowl Championship Series (BCS) game in his first season, while he became the third coach to direct a team to a BCS victory in his first season. The Big Ten coaches voted Hoke as the recipient of the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year award, while the Big Ten media named him the Dave McClain Coach of the Year. He was also named a finalist for three other national Coach of the Year awards: Bear Bryant, Eddie Robinson and Liberty Mutual. Hoke is the third Michigan coach to be honored by the Maxwell Football Club joining Lloyd Carr in 1997 and Bo Schembechler in 1989.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/30460

Leave a comment