Big Ten Sets Conference Record With 13 NCAA Basketball Tournament Teams

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten set a conference record with a combined 13 men's and women's basketball teams earning berths to their respective NCAA Tournaments, surpassing the previous record of 12, which was set in 1990 (seven men's teams, five women's) and matched in 2009 (seven men's, five women's) and again in 2011 (seven men's, five women's).

Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Purdue and Wisconsin represent the conference in the men's tournament, while Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue earned spots in the women's tournament. The seven women's teams marks a Big Ten record, while the six men's teams is tied for the second-highest total in conference history.

The Big Ten is tied for second among all conferences with 13 participating teams combined, as the Big 12 also sends 13 teams (seven women's, six men's) to the tournaments. The Big East leads all conferences with 17 combined squads (nine men's, eight women's).

Click here to read more on the Big Ten's participating men's teams, and here to read about the women's squads in the tournament.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment