Big Ten Women's Swimming & Diving Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten women's swimming & diving season concluded with nine top-10 finishes on the final day of the NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships at the James E. Martin Aquatics Center on the campus of Auburn University. Minnesota recorded 131 team points at the championships, leading the Big Ten with an 11th-place finish. The Golden Gophers were followed by No. 13 Indiana (115), No. 15 Wisconsin (91), No. 20 Ohio State (34) and No. 22 Penn State in the top 25.  Among the individual highlights, Minnesota's Haley Spencer recorded a second-place finish in the 200 breaststroke while teammate Ashley Steenvoorden placed fourth in the 1,650 freestyle (15:44.56).  Indiana's Amy Cozad placed third on the platform (329.35) and Ohio State's Bianca Alvarez recorded a runner-up finish in the 3-meter event with a score of 386.30.

NCAA Championships Qualifiers: Sixty-three Big Ten student-athletes from nine women's swimming & diving teams represented the conference at the 2012 NCAA Championships in Auburn, Ala., from March 15-18. The list of Big Ten qualifiers, complete with qualifying time, can be found here.

Indiana and Ohio State Claim Yearly Awards: The conference office announced on Wednesday, March 21, the 2012 Big Ten Women's Swimmer and Diver of the Year award winners, as voted by the conference coaches. Indiana's Allysa Vavra captured Swimmer of the Year honors, while Ohio State's Bianca Alvarez took home Diver of the Year accolades. For the complete release, click here.

Wayne Duke Award Winners:
Indiana University women's swimmer Margaux Farrell and Penn State men's gymnast Miguel Pineda were named the recipients of the 2012 Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award. The award is an annual scholarship recognizing one male and one female Big Ten senior student-athlete pursuing a postgraduate degree for achievements in academics, athletics, extracurricular activities and leadership. It is given out in conjunction with the Big Ten Men's and Women's Basketball Tournaments. For the complete release, click here.

Gophers Claim Big Ten Title: Minnesota captured the 2012 Big Ten women's swimming and diving championships crown on February 18, on the strength of Tess Behrens and Haley Spencer on the final day of competition at the Campus and Recreation Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa. The Golden Gophers amassed 680.5 points over the four-day event. Indiana finished second with 651 points and Ohio State was third with 560 points. Wisconsin tallied 411 points, while Penn State compiled 379.5 points to round out the top five in the final team standings. To read more about the Gophers and Big Ten award winners, click here.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment