Big Ten Wrestling Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Penn State Repeats as NCAA Champion: Penn State won its second national championship in as many seasons, leading a group of six Big Ten teams in the top 10 at the 2012 NCAA Wrestling Championships. The national title marks Penn State's second as a member of the Big Ten, and the conference's sixth in a row. The Nittany Lions racked up 143.0 team points, followed by Minnesota in second (117.5) and Iowa in third (107.5). Seven of the 10 weight class titles were won by Big Ten wrestlers, as Iowa's Matt McDonough (125 pounds), Ohio State's Logan Stieber (133), Michigan's Kellen Russell (141), Penn State's Frank Molinaro (149), David Taylor (165) and Ed Ruth (174), and Minnesota's Tony Nelson (285) each hauled in national championships. McDonough and Russell each picked up their second national crowns, while Stieber, Molinaro, Taylor, Ruth and Nelson each won their first. Click here to read more on the Nittany Lions' championship run.

Penn State's Taylor Wins Hodge Trophy: Following his first NCAA title, Penn State 165-pounder David Taylor was awarded the Dan Hodge Trophy, given to the National Wrestler of the Year. Taylor concluded the season at 32-0 overall en route to Big Ten and national titles and is just the third sophomore to win the award after Iowa's Brent Metcalf won it in 2008 and current Nittany Lion head coach Cael Sanderson earned the honors in his second season at Iowa State in 2000. Click here to read more on Taylor's Hodge Trophy.

Awards All Around: Nearly half of the All-America honors awarded at the NCAA Championships were given to Big Ten wrestlers, as the conference grapplers earned 34 of the 80 accolades. Minnesota led the way with seven wrestlers who were tabbed All-Americans after placing in the top eight in their respective weight classes, followed by Iowa and Penn State with six each. Illinois and Ohio State each placed four in the top eight, while Michigan, Nebraska and Northwestern each had two and Wisconsin had one. Following the NCAA Championships, Penn State 165-pounder David Taylor and Minnesota head coach J Robinson each received national awards. Taylor earned the 2012 NCAA Championships Most Outstanding Wrestler, Most Dominant Wrestler and Gorriaran Awards, while Robinson was named the national Coach of the Year.

Penn State Wins Second Straight Big Ten Championship: Penn State claimed its second straight Big Ten Championships title, winning three individual weight class crowns en route to the championship. The Nittany Lions totaled a team score of 149 points, while Minnesota followed in second place with 134 and Iowa took third with 126. Fourth-place Illinois (105.5) and fifth-place Ohio State (91) rounded out the top five. Click here to read more on Penn State's Big Ten title.

All-Big Ten, Individual Awards Announced: The 2012 All-Big Ten team, along with the conference's individual award winners, were announced following the conclusion of the Big Ten Championships. Penn State's David Taylor was named the Big Ten Wrestler of the Year for the second consecutive season, while Nittany Lion head coach Cael Sanderson picked up his second Coach of the Year honor in as many years. Ohio State's Logan Stieber was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Michigan's Kellen Russell and Penn State's Frank Molinaro were named Co-Wrestler of the Championships. Earning spots on the All-Big Ten team after winning their respective weight class titles were Illinois' Mario Gonzalez (197), Iowa's Matt McDonough (125) and Derek St. John (157), Russell (141), Minnesota's Tony Nelson (285) and Kevin Steinhaus (184), Stieber (133), and Penn State's Molinaro (149), Taylor (165) and Ed Ruth (174).

Minnesota, Penn State Share Big Ten Dual-Meet Title: Minnesota and Penn State each finished the Big Ten regular season with 7-1 records in conference duals en route to shares of the Big Ten regular season dual-meet title. The Golden Gophers closed the regular season with a 14-3 overall record, while the Nittany Lions boasted a 13-1 overall mark. Click here to read more on Minnesota and Penn State's dual-meet title.

Minnesota Claims National Duals Title: Minnesota took the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals championship, emerging victorious from the 32-team field. The Golden Gophers defeated Kent State (35-3), Missouri (26-7), Iowa (16-15) and Oklahoma State (18-13) en route to the title. Minnesota led a trio of Big Ten teams that advanced to the Final Four, as Illinois and Iowa joined the Gophers in the semifinals. Click here to read more on the Gophers' National Duals title.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment