Building Leaders, Honoring a Legend

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
2012 BigTen M BBall 2346.jpg
In recognition of the Big Ten's leadership in fully integrating athletics into the academic mission of the its member institutions, the Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership initiated the Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award in 2008.

The Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award is named for the former Big Ten Conference commissioner who served from 191-89.  While leading the Big Ten, Duke spent much of his time working to improve academic standards and graduation rates for student-athletes.

During halftime of Friday's quarterfinal matchup between Michigan and Minnesota, Indiana swimmer Margaux Farrell (pictured) and Penn State gymnast Miguel Pineda were honored as the 2011-12 Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award winners. 

The award is an annual scholarship recognizing one male and female Big Ten senior student-athlete pursuing a postgraduate degree for achievements in academics, athletics, civic service and leadership.  Each Big Ten institution many nominate one male and one female student-athlete.  For 2012, each award is $5,000, which is made possible by donations form local corporations and individuals supporting collegiate student-athletes.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment