2012 Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Two conference teams advanced to the NCAA Championships, while six individuals competed at the national meet in April to complete the 2012 season.

Nebraska Claims First Big Ten Championship: Nebraska earned its first Big Ten Championship after tallying a team score of 197.100 at the conference meet. The Huskers finished nearly one point ahead of second-place Ohio State, which concluded with a total of 196.225. Minnesota (195.950) was third, followed by Michigan (195.975), Illinois (195.850), Penn State (195.700), Iowa (195.425) and Michigan State (194.675). RECAP

Earning Conference Honors: At the conclusion of the Big Ten Championships, the conference awarded its Gymnast, Freshman and Coach of the Year winners. Penn State's Sharaya Musser took home Gymnast of the Year accolades, the third time in four seasons a Nittany Lion has won the honor, Nebraska's Jessie DeZiel claimed Freshman of the Year honors, and Husker mentor Dan Kendig was named Coach of the Year. In addition, 12 gymnasts were selected to the All-Championships Team based on their performances at the conference meet. RECAP

All Eight Compete in Regional Events: Each Big Ten women's gymnastics squad took part at NCAA Regional competitions, with Nebraska and Ohio State earning berths to the national championship meet. Also, Illinois' Alina Weinstein, Michigan's Katie Zurales and Joanna Sampson, Minnesota's Dusti Russell and Kayla Slechta, and Penn State's Sharaya Musser advanced to the NCAA Championships based on their individual finishes. RECAP

All-Big Ten Seasons: The Big Ten Conference announced its women's gymnastics All-Big Ten squads, with seven members on the first and second teams. The All-Conference teams featured the top-six performers in the all-around and the top six in each of the four events, based on the student-athletes' regional qualifying average. Illinois' Kelsey Joannides, Nebraska's Jessie DeZiel, Lora Evenstad, Janelle Giblin and Emily Wong, Ohio State's Sarah Miller and Penn State's Sharaya Musser earned first-team status. Student-athletes from Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska and Penn State were also represented on the second team. RECAP

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://cstv.collegesports.com/mt5.2/mt-tb.cgi/34909

Leave a comment