Big Ten Leads All Conferences with Nine Players on Lott Trophy Watch List

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten leads all conferences with nine student-athletes named to the watch list for the 2012 Lott IMPACT Trophy, honoring college football's defensive IMPACT player of the year with equal weight given to athletic performance and personal character. The Big Ten's list of nine nominees includes Ohio State defensive tackle John Simon, a semifinalist for last year's Lott Trophy, and Michigan safety Jordan Kovacs, a quarterfinalist for the 2011 honor. Other Big Ten standouts on the Lott Trophy watch list are Illinois linebacker Jonathan Brown, Michigan State linebacker Max Bullough, Nebraska defensive tackle Baker Steinkuhler, Penn State linebacker Gerald Hodges, Purdue defensive tackle Kawaan Short and Wisconsin linebackers Chris Borland and Mike Taylor. Big Ten players have claimed two of the last four Lott Trophies, with Buckeyes' linebacker James Laurinaitis honored in 2008 and Badgers' defensive end J.J. Watt chosen in 2010.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment