Big Ten Women's Tennis Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Six Teams Head to NCAA Championships: Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern and Purdue represented the Big Ten at the NCAA Women's Tennis Championship. The selections marked the second time in the last three years the conference had boasted six seeds in the tournament. COMPLETE RELEASE

Michigan, Northwestern Advance to Round of 16:
Michigan and Northwestern advanced to the Round of 16 of the NCAA Women's Tennis Championships. For complete championships coverage, click here.

All-Conference Teams & Individual Awards: The Big Ten announced on Thursday, April 26, its women's tennis All-Conference teams and individual award winners at the conference tournament banquet. Nebraska's Mary Weatherholt was named Athlete of the Year, while Michigan's Emina Bektas took home Freshman of the Year honors. The Wolverines' Ronni Bernstein and the Huskers' Scott Jacobsen were tabbed Co-Coaches of the Year. COMPLETE RELEASE

Purdue Wins First Big Ten Tournament Crown: Fifth-seeded Purdue rallied from a 3-2 deficit with wins at the No. 5 and 2 positions to edge second-seeded Michigan, 4-3, giving the Boilermakers their first Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament title. Purdue's Lynda Xepoleas won a third-set tiebreaker at No. 2 singles to clinch the victory. RECAP

Sharing the Trophy:
Michigan and Northwestern clinched a share of the Big Ten Women's Tennis Championship on Sunday, April 22. The Wildcats claimed their 14th title in program history, while the Wolverines earned their fourth Big Ten crown.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment