Men's Golf Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten men's golf season concluded at the NCAA Championships, with Illinois' Thomas Pieters crowned an NCAA champion.

Taking Home the Hardware: Illinois' Thomas Pieters won the NCAA Golf Championships individual title on May 31, firing a 5-under 208 over 54 holes. The Illini sophomore became the second Illinois golfer in the last three years to claim the title, following 2010 champion Scott Langley. COMPLETE RELEASE

Championships Qualifiers: Illinois and Iowa advanced to the NCAA Men's Golf Championships on May 19, based on their finish at their respective regional sites. Illinois tied for third in the Norman Regional, while Iowa finished fifth in the Athens Regional to earn spots in the championships field. COMPLETE RELEASE

Regional Qualifiers: Six Big Ten teams and three individuals were selected to compete in the NCAA Men's Golf Regionals. The Big Ten contingent was represented at five of the six regional sites, with the top five teams and top individual not on one of those teams advancing from each regional to the NCAA Championship. Three regionals hosted 13 teams and 10 individuals while the other three sites welcomed 14 teams and five individuals. COMPLETE RELEASE

All-Conference Teams & Individual Honors:
The Big Ten announced on Tuesday, May 1, the men's golf All-Conference teams and individual award winners with Illinois' Luke Guthrie taking home the Big Ten Player of the Year award. Ohio State's Grant Weaver was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while conference champion Illinois' head coach Mike Small was tabbed Coach of the Year. COMPLETE RELEASE

Four in a Row: Illinois won the Big Ten Men's Golf Championships on Sunday, April 29, shooting a 23-over 1,175 to clinch its fourth-straight and 11th overall conference title. The Fighting Illini took the lead in the second round of the championships and remained in front through the rest of the event, outshooting second-place Indiana (+26) by three strokes. Northwestern (+34) finished third at the championships, followed by fourth-place Michigan State (+40) and fifth-place Purdue (+50). COMPLETE RELEASE

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment