Big Ten Men's Outdoor Track & Field Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
An Historic Run: Illinois' Andrew Riley was named a finalist for The Bowerman on June 29, given annually to the most outstanding male and female athletes in collegiate track and field. Riley, who was also named the USTFCCCA National Outdoor T rack Athlete of the Year on June 13, became the first male in Division I history to win both the 100 meters and 110 hurdles at the same outdoor national championships. At this year's Big Ten Outdoor Championships, the Kingston, Jamaica, native was named Big Ten Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year and Athlete of the Championships after taking home three conference crowns. For the complete release, click HERE.

Academic All-America:
Ten Big Ten student-athletes were named to the Capital One Academic All-America Track & Field/Cross Country Team, as announced on June 21. To be eligible for All-America recognition, student-athletes must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a 3.30 GPA, and have reached sophomore academic and athletic standings at his or her institution. The complete list of Big Ten recipients can be found HERE.

USTFCCCA All-Americans: Eighty-seven Big Ten student-athletes were named USTFCCCA All-Americans on June 12, based on their performances at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships. First-team recognition is awarded to student-athletes that earn a top-eight finish at the national championships, while second-team honors are awarded to ninth to 16th place finishers. The list of Big Ten All-Americans can be found HERE.

NCAA Champions:
Illinois' Riley, Indiana's Andrew Bayer and Nebraska's Chad Wright claimed national titles at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Riley took home top honors in the 100-meter dash and 110 hurdles, Bayer placed first in the 1,500-meter run and Wright earned the discus crown. For the complete recap, click HERE.

Regional Awards: Illinois' Andrew Riley (Midwest Region) and Wisconsin's Mohammed Ahmed (Great Lakes Region) were tabbed Men's Track Athlete of the Year, while Indiana's Derek Drouin (Great Lakes Region) and Penn State's Jordan Kovacs (Mid-Atlantic Region) were named Men's Field Athlete of the Year. The Badgers' Ed Nuttycombe was honored as Men's Coach of the Year, while the Hoosiers' Jeff Huntoon and the Nittany Lions' Chris Johnson were tabbed Men's Assistant of the Year. To read more, click HERE.

Medal of Honor: The Big Ten Conference office announced the 2012 Medal of Honor winners on June 7, 24 honorees from 13 different sports, with Iowa's Erik Sowinski, Minnesota's David Pachuta and Nebraska's Tyler Hitchler receiving recognition. The Big Ten Medal of Honor was the first award in intercollegiate athletics to demonstrate support for the educational emphasis placed on athletics. It was acclaimed throughout the nation, and in particular by the NCAA "as one of the significant gestures yet made in college sports." The Big Ten Medal of Honor was expanded in 1982 to include one female student-athlete from each institution. In 2014, the conference will celebrate the 100th anniversary of this prestigious award. For the complete release, click HERE.

B1G Individual Honors: The Big Ten Conference office announced on May 15 the 2012 All-Big Ten men's outdoor track and field teams and individual award winners. Highlighting the list, Illinois senior Andrew Riley was named Big Ten Track Athlete of the Year and Track Athlete of the Championships, Penn State senior Joe Kovacs earned the nod as Field Athlete of the Year, and Indiana junior Derek Drouin was tabbed Field Athlete of the Championships. Penn State's Robby Creese was named Freshman of the Year, while Wisconsin head coach Ed Nuttycombe was a unanimous selection for Coach of the Year laurels. For the complete release, click HERE.

Badgers Best in B1G: Wisconsin took home the 2012 Big Ten Outdoor Track & Field Championships on Sunday, earning their 18th overall Big Ten title and first since 2007. The Badgers registered 121 points over the weekend, followed by second-place Nebraska (115.50) and third-place Indiana (115). Ohio State came in fourth with 86 points, while Iowa placed fifth with 80.50. For the complete release, click HERE.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment