Five Big Ten Standouts Named to Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Five Big Ten players were named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list, honoring the most outstanding player in college football, it was announced on Friday. Wisconsin's Montee Ball is one of 11 players on the watch list to have previously earned Walter Camp All-America honors.

Big Ten institutions have claimed 13 Walter Camp Awards since 1967, the most of any conference, most recently with 2006 honoree Troy Smith of Ohio State. Past winners include Nebraska's Johnny Rodgers (1972), Penn State's John Cappelletti (1973), Ohio State's Archie Griffin (1974 and 1975), Nebraska's Mike Rozier (1983), Indiana's Anthony Thompson (1989), Michigan's Desmond Howard (1991), Ohio State's Eddie George (1995), Michigan's Charles Woodson (1997), Wisconsin's Ron Dayne (1999), Nebraska's Eric Crouch (2001) and Penn State's Larry Johnson (2002).

The list of Big Ten players on the Walter Camp Award watch list can be found below. 

Denard Robinson, Michigan
William Gholston, Michigan State
Rex Burkhead, Nebraska
Silas Redd, Penn State
Montee Ball, Wisconsin

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment