Seven Big Ten Players Named Candidates for Doak Walker Award

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Seven Big Ten players were named as candidates for the Doak Walker Award, it was announced on Thursday. Wisconsin's Montee Ball was tabbed a candidate after appearing as a finalist for the award last season, while Nebraska's Rex Burkhead was a 2011 semifinalist.

Since 1990, the Doak Walker Award has been presented annually to the nation's top running back. Big Ten players have claimed five Walker Awards, most recently with 2008 honoree Shonn Greene of Iowa. Past winners include Ohio State's Eddie George (1995), Wisconsin's Ron Dayne (1999), Penn State's Larry Johnson (2002) and Michigan's Chris Perry (2003).

The list of Big Ten candidates for the Doak Walker Award can be found below.

Fitzgerald Toussaint, Michigan
Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State
Rex Burkhead, Nebraska
Jordan Hall, Ohio State
Silas Redd, Penn State
Montee Ball, Wisconsin
James White, Wisconsin

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment