Seven Big Ten Players Named to Groza, Guy Watch Lists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Seven Big Ten players were named to the Lou Groza and Ray Guy preseason watch lists, it was announced on Wednesday. Nebraska's Brett Maher, the 2011 Big Ten Bakken-Anderson Kicker of the Year and Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year, is one of two players to appear on both lists.

The Big Ten leads all conferences with seven players on the Lou Groza Award watch list, given annually to the nation's top place-kicker. Two conference standouts have earned the Lou Groza Award, Ohio State's Mike Nugent in 2004 and Iowa's Nate Kaeding in 2002.

Since 2000, the Ray Guy Award has been presented annually to the nation's top punter. The Big Ten has claimed three Ray Guy Awards, including Ohio State's B.J. Sander in 2003, Purdue's Travis Dorsch in 2001 and Wisconsin's Kevin Stemke in 2000.

The list of Big Ten players can be found below.

Mitch Ewald, Indiana
Mike Meyer, Iowa
Brendan Gibbons, Michigan
Dan Conroy, Michigan State
Brett Maher, Nebraska (also named to Ray Guy watch list)
Drew Basil, Ohio State
Anthony Fera, Penn State

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment