Twenty-Four Big Ten Players Selected to Nagurski, Outland Watch Lists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Twenty-four Big Ten standouts were named to the Nagurski and Outland watch lists, it was announced on Thursday. Ohio State's Johnathan Hankins and Purdue's Kawann Short represent the conference on both lists.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented annually to the National Defensive Player of the Year. Big Ten institutions have earned five Nagurski Trophies - Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald in 1995 and 1996, Michigan's Charles Woodson in 1997, Ohio State's James Laurinaitis in 2006 and Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009.

Presented annually since 1946, the Outland Trophy is the third-oldest award in major college football, given to the nation's best interior lineman. Big Ten institutions have claimed 23 Outland Trophies, the most of any conference, including two of the last three recipients, Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Wisconsin's Gabe Carimi in 2010.

The list of Big Ten players on the Nagurski and Outland watch lists can be found below.

Nagurski Trophy
Jonathan Brown, Illinois
Michael Buchanan, Illinois
Micah Hyde, Iowa
Jordan Kovacs, Michigan
Johnny Adams, Michigan State
Max Bullough, Michigan State
William Gholston, Michigan State
Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State
John Simon, Ohio State
Gerald Hodges, Penn State
Ricardo Allen, Purdue
Kawann Short, Purdue
Chris Borland, Wisconsin
Mike Taylor, Wisconsin

Outland Trophy
Graham Pocic, Illinois
Akeem Spence, Illinois
James Ferentz, Iowa
Taylor Lewan, Michigan
Chris McDonald, Michigan State
Spencer Long, Nebraska
Baker Steinkuhler, Nebraska
Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State
Jordan Hill, Penn State
Kawann Short, Purdue
Travis Frederick, Wisconsin
Ricky Wagner, Wisconsin

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment