Twenty-Six Big Ten Players Named to Butkus, Lombardi Watch Lists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Twenty-six Big Ten standouts were named to the Butkus and Lombardi watch lists, it was announced on Monday.

The Butkus Award is given annually to the nation's top linebacker. Big Ten institutions have claimed nine Butkus Awards, most recently with 2007 honoree James Laurinaitis of Ohio State. Past winners include Michigan State's Percy Snow (1989), Michigan's Erick Anderson (1991), Nebraska's Trev Alberts (1993), Illinois' Dana Howard (1994) and Kevin Hardy (1995), Ohio State's Andy Katzenmoyer (1997) and Penn State's LaVar Arrington (1999) and Paul Posluszny (2005).

Since 1970, the Lombardi Award has been awarded to the nation's most outstanding lineman. Big Ten institutions have earned 14 Lombardi Awards, most recently with 2009 recipient Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska. Past winners include Ohio State's Jim Stillwagon (1970), Nebraska's Rich Glover (1972), Ohio State's John Hicks (1973), Penn State's Bruce Clark (1978), Nebraska's Dave Rimington (1982 and 1983), Ohio State's Chris Spielman (1987), Michigan State's Percy Snow (1989), Ohio State's Orlando Pace (1995 and 1996), Nebraska's Grant Winstrom (1997), Ohio State's A.J. Hawk (2005) and MIchigan's LaMarr Woodley (2006).

The list of Big Ten players named to the watch lists can be found below.

Butkus Award
Jonathan Brown, Illinois
James Morris, Iowa
Denicos Allen, Michigan State
Max Bullough, Michigan State
David Nwabuisi, Northwestern
Etienne Sabino, Ohio State
Gerald Hodges, Penn State
Michael Mauti, Penn State
Chris Borland, Wisconsin

Lombardi Award
Jonathan Brown, Illinois
Michael Buchanan, Illinois
Akeem Spence, Illinois
James Morris, Iowa
Kenny Demens, Michigan
Taylor Lewan, Michigan 
Denicos Allen, Michigan State
Max Bullough, Michigan State
Chris McDonald, Michigan State
William Gholston, Michigan State
Marcus Rush, Michigan State
Spencer Long, Nebraska
Baker Steinkuhler, Nebraska
Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State
John Simon, Ohio State
Jake Stoneburner, Ohio State
Jordan Hill, Penn State
Gerald Hodges, Penn State
Kawann Short, Purdue
Chris Borland, Wisconsin
Travis Frederick, Wisconsin
Mike Taylor, Wisconsin
Ricky Wagner, Wisconsin

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment