Twenty-Two Big Ten Players Named to Maxwell, Bednarik Watch Lists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Twenty-two Big Ten standouts have been named to the Maxwell and Bednarik watch lists, the Maxwell Football Club announced today.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's most outstanding collegiate football player since 1937. Twenty student-athletes from Big Ten institutions have earned the Maxwell Award, most recently when the Big Ten was honored three out of four years in 1999 (Wisconsin's Ron Dayne), 2000 (Purdue's Drew Brees) and 2002 (Penn State's Larry Johnson).

The Bednarik Award, named after Chuck Bednarik, has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. Eight players from Big Ten institutions have earned Bednarik Awards, including two-time honorees Pat Fitzgerald of Northwestern (1995 and 1996) and Paul Posluszny of Penn State (2005 and 2006). Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh is the most recent honoree in 2009.

The complete list of Big Ten players can be found below.

Maxwell Award
James Vandenberg, Iowa
Denard Robinson, Michigan
Fitzgerald Toussaint, Michigan
Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State
Rex Burkhead, Nebraska
Braxton Miller, Ohio State
Silas Redd, Penn State
Montee Ball, Wisconsin

Bednarik Award
Jonathan Brown, Illinois
Michael Buchanan, Illinois
Micah Hyde, Iowa
James Morris, Iowa
Johnny Adams, Michigan State
Denicos Allen, Michigan State
Max Bullough, Michigan State
William Gholston, Michigan State
Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State
John Simon, Ohio State
Gerald Hodges, Penn State
Ricardo Allen, Purdue
Kawann Short, Purdue
Chris Borland, Wisconsin

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment