Four Big Ten Players Named Lott Trophy Quarterfinalists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Defensive tackle John Simon of Ohio State and linebackers Max Bullough of Michigan State and Chris Borland and Mike Taylor of Wisconsin were named quarterfinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, which honors the student-athlete who has the biggest IMPACT on his team on and off the field. The Badgers joined LSU as the only schools with two quarterfinalists. Simon was named a Lott Trophy semifinalist last season along with Nebraska linebacker Lavonte David. Two Big Ten standouts have won the Lott Trophy since its creation in 2004 - Ohio State's James Laurinaitis in 2008 and Wisconsin's J.J. Watt in 2010.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy is named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott. IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.  Semifinalists for the award will be announced Nov. 13 and four finalists Nov. 28.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment