Big Ten Men's Cross Country Season in Review

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The 2012 Big Ten men's cross country season came to a close at the NCAA Championships, with three Big Ten teams placing in the top 25 at the national meet. Big Ten Champion Wisconsin finished second at the championships, placing four Badger runners in the top 50, while Indiana followed in 18th, Michigan in 23rd and Michigan State in 31st. Wisconsin's Mohammed Ahmed led the way for conference harriers, placing eighth individually, followed by teammates Maverick Darling in 11th and Reed Connor in 12th. All three Wisconin runners, along with Indiana's Zach Mayhew who finished 14th, earned All-America honors.

Big Ten Hauls in Regional Awards: Twenty-two Big Ten runners received USTFCCCA All-Region recognition by virtue of their top-25 finish at their respective regionals this season, second to only the SEC (23) among conferences. Michigan and Wisconsin led the way with five honorees each, while three Michigan State runners, two harriers from Illinois, Indiana, Penn State and Purdue, and one Ohio State runner were named to the team. Additionally, Wisconsin's Mohammed Ahmed was named the Great Lakes Region Athlete of the Year, while head coach Mick Byrne was tabbed Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year for the fourth time in five years. For complete regional results, click here.

Big Ten Championships Roundup: Wisconsin took home its 14th consecutive Big Ten Championship and the team's 46th overall title by placing four runners in the top 10. Maverick Darling and Mohammed Ahmed led the Badgers, placing second and third individually. Indiana's Zach Mayhew took home the individual crown, running the 8,000-meter course in 23:29. For the full Big Ten Championships recap and a list of All-Big Ten honorees, click here.

Big Ten Postseason Awards: After placing first at the Big Ten Championships, Indiana's Zach Mayhew was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year. Wisconsin head coach Mick Byrne collected his fifth straight Coach of the Year honor, while Purdue's Matt McClintock took home Freshman of the Year laurels after leading all newcomers with an eighth place finish at the conference meet. For more on the individual Big Ten award winners, click here

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment