PSU's McGloin Wins Burlsworth Trophy

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Penn State senior quarterback Matt McGloin was honored by the Springdale Rotary Club as the winner of the Third Annual Burlsworth Trophy, presented to the nation's outstanding college football player who began his career as a walk-on. The record-setting signal-caller broke nine school passing records and tied another during his impressive senior campaign. The Burlsworth Trophy was first presented in 2010 in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, a former All-American and walk-on offensive lineman at the University of Arkansas. Burlsworth died in an automobile accident 11 days after being selected by the Indianapolis Colts as the 63rd overall pick in the 1999 NFL Draft. Michigan safety Jordan Kovacs (Michigan) was also a finalist for the Burlsworth Trophy.
McGloin joined the Nittany Lions in 2008 and has emerged as one of Penn State's most prolific signal-callers in its 126-year history. A starter in 10 games prior to this season, McGloin was named the starting quarterback in June and flourished in Coach Bill O'Brien's offense, starting all 12 games this year. The former West Scranton High School standout broke nine school records and tied another during his superlative senior campaign. He was instrumental in helping the Nittany Lions win eight of their last 10 games, compiling an 8-4 overall record and 6-2 Big Ten mark, finishing second in the Leaders Division. For the season, McGloin was 270 of 446 (60.5) for 3,266 yards, with 24 touchdown passes and only five interceptions. He also was second on the team with five touchdown runs. An honorable mention All-Big Ten choice, McGloin was selected Big Ten Co-Offensive Player of the Week on Nov. 19 after throwing for 395 yards, just four yards off the school record, and a career-high tying four touchdowns in Penn State's 45-22 win over Indiana.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment