PSU's O'Brien Named MFC National Coach of Year

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Penn State's Bill O'Brien was named the Maxwell Football Club (MFC) Collegiate Coach of the Year, the second straight year a Big Ten coach has been honored. Michigan's Brady Hoke was named national coach of the year by the MFC last season. The MFC has honored a national coach of the year since 1989 and Big Ten mentors have now been selected on eight occasions.

O'Brien led the Nittany Lions to victories in eight of their final 10 games, earning an 8-4 overall record and a 6-2 mark in the conference, with the only losses coming to division winners Nebraska and Ohio State. Penn State reeled off five consecutive victories after an 0-2 start and won its first three Big Ten road games. O'Brien was named the Big Ten's Dave McClain (media) and Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (coaches).

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment